Oof.

Two weeks away from the election and I have reached perpetual heartburn/indigestion status. My insides are revolting and I am at MAXXXXX stress levels. Not just because of the election. If there was a pie chart, election stress would take up about 50%. I lied. It is 100%.

But so is my school stress. And work stress. And spouse stress. In the pie chart, they all have a different color of representation. It’s just a giant black circle. Each issue is layered on top of the other, taking up 100% of the pie.

The Starbucks store I work in is always on fire. Completely figuratively. But ALWAYS on fire. Never in my life have I worked at a job with so many lazy people. The most important equipment is old and busted. It won’t get fixed or replaced, apparently due to the fact that it affects my manager’s bonuses. The busted equipment makes it almost impossible to do anything correctly… cleaning, making drinks… anything. On-boarding new employees is quarter-assed at best. Half-assing is way too much to ask for here. We are so understaffed. I don’t have the time to dive into the awesome “playbook” set-up that Starbucks has for their stores, but it is wonderful. And when properly followed, even a busted-ass store can do well most of the time.

Even worse, the proper food safety regulations are not regularly communicated, nor are they followed. Two weeks ago, I watched another barista use the sanitizing (HIGH TEMP), industrial dish washer to thaw out frozen whipping creams………………………… WHAT IN THE ACTUAL FUCK?! This sort of shit is SERIOUS in the food industry. People can die from that level of food poisoning. As I poured out all of the whipping cream, they were all curdled and smelled terrible. THEY WERE GOING TO MAKE WHIPPED CREAM WITH THESE. Training is not being done here. How do I know for sure?? I was a rehire after four years and I was just thrown on the floor like, “you’ll pick it back up!”. I make drinks wrong all of the time. Most of the time it is forgetting the finishing touch of caramel on the whipped cream or I forget sugar crunch on top… but the new drinks that came out while I was gone? Oh yeah, I make them wrong. *SHRUG*

I have asked repeatedly to be properly retrained. Starbuck’s training is quite amazing and it is there for a reason. Never happened though. I was handed a stack of recipe cards. Well…. I’m dyslexic and yeah…. LOL.

Someone save me. Please.

Leave a comment